Honors & Awards

ATLANTA (June 23, 2018) – ASHRAE recognized the outstanding achievements and contributions of members to the Society and the heating, ventilation, air conditioning and refrigeration industry at the 2018 ASHRAE Annual Conference, June 23-27, in Houston. A list of awards and recipients for the National Capital Chapther are below:

Grassroots Government Advocacy Award
Jui-Chen Roger Chang, P.E., of the National Capital Chapter, received the Grassroots Government Advocacy Award. The award recognizes individuals for outstanding effort and achievement in state, provincial, and local government activities in connection with technical issues related to the Society. Chang is principal at DLR Group, Washington D.C.

ASHRAE Journal Paper Award
Omar John Hawit and Trevor Jaffe, P.E. received the Journal Paper Award for the article, “Water-Energy Nexus: Heat Rejection Systems,” judged to be the best article published in ASHRAE Journal. The article was published in September 2017. Hawit is principal for DLR Group,
Washington D.C.; Jaffe is senior mechanical engineer for Building Mechanical Systems, WSP USA, Arlington, Va.

Distinguished Service Award
Michael Blanford, research engineer, US Department of Housing and Urban Development, Office of Policy Development and Research, Washington D.C. and Danny M. Halel, manager of standards, Air Conditioning Contractors of America (ACCA), Arlington, Va. both received the Distinguished Service Award, which salutes members of any grade who have served the Society faithfully and with distinction and who have given freely of their time and talent in chapter, regional and Society activities.

Distinguished 50-Year Member Award 
Vijay K. Gupta, Fellow Life Member ASHRAE, Springfield, Virginia, received the Distinguished 50-Year Member Award, which is given to individuals who have been a member for a minimum of 50 years, and are either a past Society president, Fellow ASHRAE or Distinguished Service Award recipient or who have performed outstanding service to ASHRAE or its predecessor societies – the American Society of Heating and Ventilating Engineers (ASHVE), the American Society of Refrigerating Engineers (ASRE), and the American Society of Heating and Air-Conditioning Engineers (ASHAE).


Congratulations to this year's award winners!


The Honors and Awards Committee consists of a chair, typically the Senior Governor, and at least two (2) additional members, preferably past chapter presidents. The Committee promotes the recognition of outstanding chapter members within the chapter, region, Society, associated societies and the community. Names of chapter members are submitted to ASHRAE and other organizations for honors and awards given by ASHRAE and other organizations. Information on Society awards can be found here: https://www.ashrae.org/membership--conferences/honors--awards


NCC members are encouraged to send recommendations for nominations to Honors_and_Awards@nccashrae.org! Please include the name of the individual and the award for which you would like to recommend him/her.