January 2022 Capitalaire

Capitalaire

The National Chapter of ASHRAE

Screenshot 2021-04-28 2.31.05 PM

January 2022

President’s Corner

Happy New Year National Capital Chapter.

First, I would like to thank our wonderful speakers from our December meeting.  Not only did they provide some great information about BEPS, but they also helped to bring in one of the most diverse audiences we have had in a while.  I hope everyone there had the opportunity to speak to the owners, government officials, contractors, and engineers that were in attendance.  This led to some great discussion at the end of each session and during the social hour.

I know that many of you are planning on attending the ASHRAE Winter Conference in Atlanta at the beginning of February.  I wish you safe travels and hopefully you will have a chance to stop in and see something exciting and new at the AHR Expo.  If you see me there, please stop me to say hello.

Our next in person meeting will be on Wednesday, February 22nd at the Hilton Arlington.  This meeting will include a PES discussion on Integrated Design – Early Contractor/Engineer/Owner Partnership and a dinner discussion on Amplifying Diversity, Equality, and Inclusion in Architecture, Engineering, and Construction.  We look forward to seeing you there!

Stay tuned to our chapter website at www.nccashrae.org to learn more about next month’s meeting and other exciting events.

 

Best Regards,

Nick Barrett

Nick Barrett Signature

President, National Capital Chapter, 2022-2023

Headshot
020-2021 Board of Governors
President  Nick Barrett president@nccashrae.org
President-Elect Mike Morder president_elect@nccashrae.org
Vice President Jonathan Rumbaugh vice_president@nccashrae.org
Treasurer Michael Spencer treasurer@nccashrae.org
Secretary Lauren MacGowens treasurer@nccashrae.org
Sr. Governor Ryan Westlund senior_governor@nccashrae.org
Governor Mikelann Scerbo governor1@nccashrae.org
Governor Drew McPheeters governor2@nccashrae.org
Governor Bailey Estes governor3@nccashrae.org
2020-2021 Committee Chairs
Annual Social Laura Morder

Bradey Jump

president@nccashrae.org
CRC Laura Morder
Stephanie Mages
info@nccashrae.org
Directory Morgan Stevens directory@nccashrae.org
Facility Tour Catherine Jones
Finance Nick Barrett
Michael Spencer
Jonathan Rumbaugh
Mike Morder
finance@nccashrae.org
Golf Outing Mike Morder president@nccashrae.org
Gov't Affairs Mikelann Scerbo government_activities_national@nccashrae.org
Historian Gary McKee

Drew McPheeters

historian@nccashrae.org
Honors/ Awards Stephen Neiz honors_and_awards@nccashrae.org
Membership Stephanie Gonzalez

Lauren MacGowens

membership@nccashrae.org
Newsletter Ian Faulconer

Laura Morder

newsletter@nccashrae.org
Reception Catherine Jones reception@nccashrae.org
Refrigeration Catherine Jones refrigeration@nccashrae.org
Research Promotion Drew McPheeters research_promotion@nccashrae.org
Student Activities Dante Freeland student_activities@nccashrae.org
Sustainability Ryan Westlund sustainability@nccashrae.org
Tech Awards Stephen Niez tega@nccashrae.org
Website/ Electronic
Communications
Michael Spencer
Lauren MacGowens
tega@nccashrae.org
Women in ASHRAE Bailey Estes wia@nccashrae.org
Young Engineers in ASHRAE Zach DeLuke

Ryan Cleary

yea@nccashrae.org
Programs Mikleann Scerbo programs@nccashrae.org

MEMBERSHIP PROMOTION

Please welcome our newest members to the National Capital Chapter!

Hanyan Shen
Sean Burke
Steven Granados
Stephen Paul Rebetsky
Aida Mina Roxas
Fredericka D Brown
Kelvin Xu
Andrew Miller
Pinaki Acharya
Vivian Romeo Mapangou Mpaga
Daniel Poindexter

Hanyan Shen
Sean Burke
Steven Granados
Stephen Paul Rebetsky
Aida Mina Roxas
Fredericka D Brown
Kelvin Xu
Andrew Miller
Pinaki Acharya
Vivian Romeo Mapangou Mpaga
Daniel Poindexter

Want to know more? email membership@nccashrae.org

Corporate Sponsors

Platinum Level Sponsors

Boland Trane
Havtech No Tagline
Chesapeake Systems RGB - 02042021
Spectrum Logo_FullColor

Gold Level Sponsors

AECOM
Advanced Thermal Solutions
Rehau
Gold - Vertiv
Hobbs_Logo_No_Tag_Color
H&B Engineered Products2

Silver Level Sponsors

Critical Systems

CTTC

Upcoming 2022 - 2023 Meeting Dates & Themes: 

February 22, 2023 - Membership Promotion, YEA & DEIA

March 8, 2023 - Past Presidents, Awards and Research Promotion

April 12, 2023 - Students, Government & Historian

May - Refrigeration & Spring Tour

Programs

Membership Promotion, YEA & DEIA

February 22, 2023

3:30-5:30 PM - PES Seminar

5:30-630 PM - Happy Hour

6:30-8:00 PM - Dinner

young engineers in ashrae

Save the Dates

NCC YEA Social
Where: Punch Bowl Social Arlington, 4238 Wilson Blvd Unit 1180 Arlington, VA
When: Wednesday, March 1, 2023 from 6:00-9:00 PM

Region lll YEA Philadelphia Union Soccer Club Tailgate & Game
Where: TBD
When: Saturday, May 20, 2023

government affairs

There are plenty of opportunities to engage in policy conversations on building energy and climate change in 2023! Here are a few local events to check out

Climate and Clean Energy Legislators Reception, hosted by Climate Cabinet Education
Where: John Marshall Ballrooms, Richmond, VA
When: Thursday, January 19, 2023 from 6:00-8:00 PM

Decarbonization Symposium and Legislative Fly-In, hosted by the Building Owners and Managers Association (BOMA) International
Where: The St. Regis Hotel, Washington, D.C.
When: March 14-15, 2023

Montgomery County Energy Summit, hosted by Montgomery County Department of Environmental Protection
Where: Silver Spring Civic Building, Silver Spring, MD
When: March 28-29, 2023

Better Buildings, Better Plants Summit, hosted by the U.S. Department of Energy
Where: Capital Hilton, Washington, DC
When: April 11-13, 2023

ASHRAE relies on YOU for support. If you are interested in donating, please visit
https://nccashrae.org/product/corporate-sponsorship/