May 2024 Capitalaire


The National Chapter of ASHRAE

Screenshot 2021-04-28 2.31.05 PM

May 2024

Board of Governors & Committee Chair Contact

Board of Governors Email Address
President Mike Morder
President-Elect/Vice President Jonathan Rumbaugh

Treasurer Michael Spencer
Secretary Lauren McGowens
Sr. Governor Ryan Westlund
Governor Bailey Estes
Governor Stephanie Gonzalez
Governor Zach DeLuke
Governor Dante Freeland
Committee Chairs Email Address
Annual Social Bailey Estes  
Joe Stephens
CTTC Zach DeLuke  
Programs Ian Faulconer  
Directory TBD
Finance Michael Spencer
Jonathan Rumbaugh
Mike Morder
Nick Barrett
Golf Outing Stephen Wetherhold  
Gov’t Affairs TBD
Historian Ryan Westlund
Honors/ Awards Stephanie Mages
Membership Stephanie Gonzalez
Newsletter Jackie Rhodes
Reception Molly Sizemore
Catherine Jones
Refrigeration TBD  
Research Promotion Stephen Wetherhold
Student Activities Dante Freeland
Alex Ratliff
Sustainability Jesse Fox
Website/Electronic Communications Caroline Evans
Diversity in ASHRAE Caroline Evans  
Bailey Estes
Young Engineers in ASHRAE Ryan Cleary


Platinum Sponsors

Havtech No Tagline
Spectrum Logo_FullColor
2019 Red Co-Branded Boland Trane Logo-01
Victaulic Logo (002)
Johnson Controls Logo. (PRNewsFoto/Johnson Controls)

Gold Sponsors

H&B Engineered Products2
Advanced Thermal Solutions
Gold - Vertiv


NCC Logo

Thank you to our membership for another great year with NCC ASHRAE!

Please help next year's Programs Committee by completing the below survey.


Save the Date!

Please join the Baltimore Chapter of Women in ASHRAE for a Spring Social!

Thursday, May 16th, 2024

5:00 - 8:00 pm EST

Location: Shmidt Spirits Distillery

10360 Southard Drive, Beltsville, MD 20705

Spring Social


On behalf of the Nominating Committee, the following slate of officers have been selected for SY 2024-25:

President Elect/VP - Michael Spencer

Treasurer - Stephanie Gonzalez

Secretary - Bailey Estes

Senior Governor - Michael Morder

Governor 1 - Ian Faulconer

Governor 2 - Caroline Evans

Governor 3 - Ryan Cleary

Governor 4 - Stephanie Mages


Get recognition for your well-designed building! The ASHRAE NCAA Technology Award submissions for Technology Awards are due on May 17th, 2024 for Region 3.

Please email your submissions to Stephanie Mages at

Note, there are 6 different building categories as listed below.

I. Commercial Buildings

II. Institutional Buildings

III. Health Care Facilities

IV. Industrial Facilities or Processes

V. Public Assembly Facilities

VI. Residential

Below is a link to the 3-page form and instructions on the narrative.

Early submissions are welcome!

Thank you in advanced for your submissions!


Please welcome our newest members to the National Capital Chapter!

Zach McDonald
Colin McDermitt
James Phillips
Joel Sarmiento
Albert Donnay
Dane Clarke
Kailee Callaghan


The Research Promotion Committee manages and supports both the Society‐level fundraising and Chapter‐level fundraising of the RP Campaign. Traditionally supporting just research, the RP Campaign was expanded 10 years ago to include support of Education & ALI, Endowed Research through ASHRAE Foundation, YEA programs, ASHRAE Scholarships, and the General/ Unrestricted fund. Research, the backbone of ASHRAE, remains the primary fund of the program with over $2 million raised for this program annually.

Ways You Can Contribute:

We encourage you to make your donation to one of our National Capital endowed funds in the following section:

Foundation - Foundation Endowed Research Funds 23-24

Thank you so much for your support!

Below are some projects in our region funded by the ASHRAE 22-23 RP Campaign:

 Flammable Refrigerants Post-Ignition Simulation and Risk Assessment Update
GEXCON US - Bethesda MD

Investigation of Ignition Temperature (Hot surface and Auto Ignition) for 2L Refrigerants
AHRTI - Arlington, VA
Completed RP Mar. 2019
Transport of Indoor Biological Dust
PENN. STATE U-Parichehr Salimifrad

Airside heat transfer augmentation using multi-scale analysis and shape optimization for compact heat exchangers with small hydraulic diameters
U-MARYLAND - Daniel Bacellar

Demonstrating the application of novel multi-criteria ventilation algorithms in office buildings
DREXEL U. - Tom Ben David

Quantifying Non-Energy Benefits of High-Performance, Urban Elementary School Buildings
CATHOLIC U. - Emily Oldman

ASHRAE relies on YOU for support. If you are interested in donating, please visit